Board of Directors

Western AgCredit is a financial cooperative owned by its member-customer stockholders and governed by a 10-member board of directors. The board meets monthly and provides overall direction to the organization's leadership. Stockholders participate in annual director elections for open governance positions.

Our 10-member Board includes:

Member Directors elected by voting stockholders
Outside Directors appointed by the Board based on their professional expertise who are not stockholders or borrowers of the Farm Credit System

Association territory is divided into regions, by county. Each Director represents their local region.

Region 1:

All of Box Elder and Cache Counties, State of Utah.

Region 2:

All of Rich, Weber, Morgan, Davis, Tooele, Salt Lake, Summit, Daggett, Wasatch, Duchesne, and Uintah Counties, State of Utah; all of Uinta and a portion of Lincoln Counties, State of Wyoming.

Region 3:

All of Sevier, Utah, Juab, Millard, Sanpete, Carbon, Emery, and Grand Counties, State of Utah.

Region 4:

All of Beaver, Iron, Washington, Piute, Wayne, Garfield, Kane, and San Juan Counties, State of Utah; all of Clark and Lincoln Counties, State of Nevada; and portions of Mohave and Coconino Counties, State of Arizona.

What does the Board of Directors do?

The board is responsible for overseeing and interacting with the Association's four-member senior management team. The Board of Director Charter was developed to bring clarity and focus to key board composition and process areas that support the Board’s leadership and oversight role in the accomplishment of the Association mission:

“To provide the most dependable source of constructive credit and related services to agriculture and the rural community.”

The Board’s primary functions include:
  • Developing the Association’s long-term vision and conducting the long-term planning and strategic thinking needed to realize the vision
  • Determining policy matters, periodically reviewing operations and being informed of the fulfillment of objectives, goals and performance
  • Working with management in the regular review, identification and prioritization of risks; in establishing risk tolerance levels; and in monitoring actual performance. This includes oversight and active participation in the Enterprise Risk Management function.
  • Understanding the Association’s primary and other lines of business, including:
    • The key business opportunities that may exist and the strategies to pursue them
    • The significant related risk areas presented and the tools to manage them
  • Putting effective management in place to conduct operations through strong hiring, compensation, evaluation, and succession planning programs
  • Delegating authority to management and holding management accountable for results
  • Overseeing the Association’s financial reporting and disclosure, compliance with laws and regulations and audit programs
  • Addressing the Association’s need to grow

Your Directors

The board of directors are local farmers & ranchers elected from our membership. Learn more about our current directors below.

Wayne A. Smith


  • Director since 2000
  • Term Expires: 2026
  • Region 4 - Iron County

LaDell Eyre


  • Director since 2005
  • Term Expires: 2025
  • Outside Director

Kate Nye

Member Director 

  • Director since 2021
  • Term Expires: 2024
  • Region 3 - Millard County

Kim Haws

Member Director 

  • Director since 2003
  • Term Expires: 2025
  • Region 1 - Cache County

Klynt Heaton

Member Director 

  • Director since 2020
  • Term Expires: 2024
  • Region 4 - Kane County

Richard Nielson

Member Director 

  • Director since 2003
  • Term Expires: 2023
  • Region 3 - Sanpete County

Robert Johnson

Member Director 

  • Director since 1998
  • Term Expires: 2024
  • Region 2 - Rich County

Scott Wayment

Member Director 

  • Director since 2011
  • Term Expires: 2025
  • Region 2 - Weber County

Shirelle Erb


  • Director since 2005
  • Term Expires: 2024
  • Outside Director


See Past Issues